How a Bail Bondsman Can Help: A Few Tips from Someone Who Knows

03/04/2016 16:38

I didn't know where to start. My little brother had always been a troublemaker, but I never dreamed he would go and get himself arrested. It was on New Year's Eve: I had gone to bed at 1:30 after having a quiet night in with a few friends, ringing in the new year. I was awakened by the ringing of my phone. I didn't recognize the number, but as it was 2:00 in the morning, I figured it was an emergency. A man on the other end of the line told me that I had a phone call from the jail. My heart stopped: It was my brother. His voice was broken as he explained what had happened. I could hardly understand, but I gathered that he had been involved in a bar fight due to a man who had insulted him. The conversation wasn't long - my brother begged me to come get him, saying he "couldn't sit in jail any longer." He was a good kid - I knew I had to get him released as quickly as possible.

Where to Begin?

But, I didn't have a clue where to begin. I hadn't ever stepped foot in a jail, let alone gotten someone released! Then, it struck me: I had a friend who mentioned a bail agent who had been extremely helpful when he was arrested. I called my friend up, apologizing for the late hour, and got the bail agent's number. My hands shaking, I dialed the phone number and waited. Little did I know that making that phone call would be the best thing I ever did to help my brother.

Bail Bondsman: Indispensable Help

The man who answered the phone was so helpful. He talked to me about what had happened, offered insight into the jail system, and took all the information I had and told me he would work on getting my brother released. Remember - all this took place at 3 o'clock in the morning! I'll admit I didn't get much sleep that night, but it was extremely helpful to know that someone was working to help me. At 9am, I got a call: The bail agent had located my brother and arranged the paperwork. I needed to meet him at his office to sign the contract, and my brother would be released that morning! I can't explain how excited I was. The paperwork only took a few minutes to sign, and the bail bond fee was more than fair. After signing, I went home and a few hours later, my brother arrived.  We were able to get a lawyer for him and fight the charges he was facing. That bail agent helped me when no one else could: He had the experience, insight, and advice that I needed to feel calm during those hours of panic. Without that helpful bail bondsman, I dont' know what I would have done! Since then, I take every opportunity to share my story: Bail agents tend to have a shady reputation, but nothing could be furthe from the truth - at least with the agent I worked with. If you get a call in the middle of the night, dont' hesitate to give a bail agent a call - you will be glad you did!